12/21/2009 Multiple Exposure

By: taigray

Dec 22 2009

Category: Flash, Long Exposure, Night

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:38mm
ISO:200
Shutter:30 sec
Camera:NIKON D70

Tonight at about 10:20, I started working on my photo assignment for the break: multiple exposures, on-location portraits, and lighting. I got my best friend Justin to go with me out into the freezing fog to Heritage Elementary where we could use a wallball wall as a background. I had already thought about how I was going to do this image, so all I had to do was set it up and explain it to Justin. I set up the camera on the tripod, set the camera’s aperture to about 7.1 and the shutter speed at 30 seconds (the slowest I can go before bulb), and the ISO at 200. Then I manually focused the image and set the ten second timer. As soon as the shutter opened, I set off the white flash from directly behind the camera, then moved to the left and shot off the flash twice through a red filter, then rushed over to the right to set the flash off twice with the blue filter, and then the shutter closes. It took 6 shots to perfect the method.

There are a few things that could have been done differently. I was really limited by the 30 second shutter speed. If I had a way to have someone else hold down a remote while I did it, I would be able to get about 4 flashes of red (to get a nice, deep red image) and about 6-7 flashes of blue (so you can actually see the whole image). The blue is much harder to work with and I tried to sneak a third blue flash at the end, but always missed by a half of a second (due to the charging time of the flash). I could have raised the ISO to something higher, it may have captured the red and blue better, but I wanted the image to be as noise-free as possible. In the end, with a bit of photoshopping to emphasize the red and blue, I am very happy with this image.

Leave a Reply

