3/11/10 Backyard Photos

By: taigray

Mar 12 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Artistic, Backyard, Colors, Objects, Sunset

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:105mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/1250 sec
Camera:NIKON D90

Well, I was going to post this yesterday when i actually took the shot, but I was too tired after finishing my homework :-). Better late than never. As of recently, I have been exploring my backyard to try to find new, interesting pictures and I have not been disappointed. There is not too much subject matter back there, but that adds to the challenge and satisfaction when you get a good image.

My favorite shot that i got yesterday was of this old shovel I found lying on the ground. It was pretty close to sunset when I went out, so the lighting was very interesting and provided a great contrast in the grass. What first caught my eye was the glint off of the scratched, polished silver surface of the tip of the shovel. I really wanted to get that in the shot, but I couldn’t take it at the right angle without making the image look boring and uninteresting. This is my final result, with very little photoshopping.

One thing that I like about my Nikon D90 with the kit lens is the nice effect it has in the backgrounds, contributing to the interestingness of the image.

Leave a Reply

