4/28/10 Dance Company Shoot

By: taigray

Apr 28 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Abstract, Analysis, Artistic, Equipment, Long Exposure, School, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/22
Focal Length:48mm
ISO:400
Shutter:20 sec
Camera:NIKON D90

Well, today I stayed after school for a few hours to help out shooting the final dress rehearsal for the Davis High Dance Company’s production Heaven and Earth. I had stayed for a few of the dances yesterday after school, just to get a feel for the kind of angles and shots I would try to get, but I ended up winging it most of the time anyway. We had 4 D700s and 4 different lenses (50 f1.4, 14-24 f2.8, 24-70 f2.8, and 70-200 f2.8) so we could cover everything possible, and I brought my D90 and a little tripod to set up at the front of the stage to get some long exposure shots, which I was going to trip wirelessly. I started off with both close-up lenses and found it extremely hard to get close enough to get a good picture. I spent the first half shooting mainly with the 50mm. At the half way point, I switched for the 70-200 and it got a lot better. We were having a hard time with the lighting, as some parts would be pretty bright and some you could barely see in.

As a kind of interlude between some of the dances, there were some abstract, ‘mini’ performances using this piano. They weren’t very interesting to shoot, as nothing very interesting was happening, so I tripped my D90 a couple times for about 20 seconds each and got some amazing results.

Leave a Reply

