9/30/2010 Lamborghini Processing

By: taigray

Sep 30 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Afternoon, Analysis, Car, Portfolio

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:105mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/2000 sec
Camera:NIKON D90

Ok, so I did this about a week ago, but I still think it’s worth posting. This is one of the pictures that I took while I was on senior trip in California. We had just gotten done playing in the tide pools at Laguna beach and our car was parked right across the street from a Wells Fargo, and this magical car happened to be in the parking lot 🙂 The guy inside parked his car and went into the bank, and we immediately ran over to admire the car before he came back, making sure to stay far back. These cars are intimidating to be around :-). I took a few closeup shots, but didn’t get any good ones because I didn’t want to get too close. We went back to our car and waited for the rest of my friends family to arrive so we could leave. Just as we were about to leave, the guy got back into the car and pulled out. I lifted my camera again, and luckily he was turning left onto a busy street and I was able to get a couple pictures in a good spot before he left. Amazing car…

So, I was naturally very excited to finish photoshopping the picture, but I never could get it to look the way I saw it in my head. Well, last week I got a few plugins from Nik software and I was just testing them out on pictures I had already taken. As I was going through the many filters available, Solarize caught my attention. It almost neutralized the yellow color (turning it into the gold) and added some nice shine, gradient, and reflections to the car. I used a layer mask to apply it to the car and then continued through the filter until I found one that created more of a grunge, black and white background, then used a layer mask to keep it away from the colors of the car, and this is the result. It is my new favorite picture and my most popular on flickr (www.flickr.com/taigray). 200 comments in less than a day… that kills any of my other records 🙂

Leave a Reply

